The future of the left since 1884

AGENDA – FEPS-Fabian New Year Conference 2023


Conference Agenda

9.00: Registration

10.00: Introduction from Fabian Society General Secretary Andrew Harrop, Fabian Society Chair Lord Roy Kennedy, and FEPS Director-General Ania Skrzpek.


10.10: Keynote Speech from Rachel Reeves MP, Labour’s shadow chancellor.


11.10: Parallel sessions start

Room: The Light

The left’s agenda for Prosperity and Growth with: Jonathan Reynolds MP, Torsten Bell, Kate Bell, Dominic Afscharian. Chair: Sasjkia Otto 


Room: George Fox

The left’s agenda for Education and Children with: Bridget Phillipson MP, João Albuquerque MEP, Cllr Marianna Masters, Anne Longfield, Darren Northcott. Chair: Ben Cooper 


Room: Sarah Fell

The left’s agenda for Devolving Power with: Mick Antoniw MS, Mayor Oliver Coppard, Ayesha Hazarika, Jess Studdert, Frazer Clarke. Chair: Luke Raikes.


12:10: Parallel sessions pause, guests reassemble in the Light 

12:20: International address from Katarina Barley MEP, introduced by Andrew Harrop


12:25: Plenary session:

The left’s agenda for Winning Elections with: Anneliese Dodds MP, Cllr Satvir Kaur, Chris Curtis, Dr Eunice Goes, Paul Mason. Chair: Cllr Sara Hyde. 


13:20 – Lunch


13:25 – Lunchtime fringes

Room: George Fox

Fabian Women’s Network – How does Labour address black health and wellbeing? With: Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP, Mariama Kandeh, Dr Sonia Adesara, Natalie Creary. Chair: Cllr Marianna Masters. 


Room: Sarah Fell

Young Fabians – Why young people vote Labour, and why they will stick with Labour – Kitchen Table Discussion. 


14.20 – Afternoon parallel sessions 

Room: The Light

The left’s agenda for The Environment: Ed Miliband MP, Cllr Dr Kindy Sandhu, Shaun Spiers, Fiona Harvey, Polly Billington, Chair: Eloise Sacares. 


Room: Ada Salter

The left’s agenda for Britain in the World: Catherine West MP, Cllr Jessica Toale, Cllr Shaista Aziz, Cllr Alice Macdonald, Mark Leonard, Nicoletta Pirozzi. 


Room: George Fox

The left’s agenda for Poverty and Inequality: Jonathan Ashworth MP, Lord Stewart Wood, Dr Halima Begum, Stewart Lansley, Cllr Sara Hyde. Chair: Cllr Catherine Fookes. 


Room: Sarah Fell

The left’s agenda for Defeating Populism: Dame Diana Johnson MP, Baroness Ruth Anderson, Ian Dunt, Sunder Katwala, Prof. Daphne Halikopoulou, Marcin Duma, Chair: Thom Brooks. 


15:35 – Final parallel sessions 


Room: George Fox

The left’s agenda for Health and Care: Sara Cerdas MEP, Cllr Salma Arif, Anita Charlesworth, Dr Sonia Adesara, Dr Anna Dixon MBE, Chair: Dr Martin Edobor. 


Room: The Light

The left’s agenda for Crime and Security: Sarah Jones MP, Cllr Khayer Chowdhury, Cllr Dora Dixon-Fyle, Dame Vera Baird KC, Kate Green, Rick Muir. Chair: Cllr Sara Hyde 


Room: Sarah Fell

The left’s agenda for Transport: Neil Bibby MSP, Cllr Liz Clements, Seb Dance, Jen Thornton. Chair: James Potts. 


16:35: Parallel sessions end, delegates reassemble in the Light


16:50: International address from Pedro Silva Pereira MEP, introduced by Ania Skrzypek


17:00: Policy Dragon’s Den

17:45: Closing remarks by Andrew Harrop and conference end.


Fabian membership

Join the Fabian Society today and help shape the future of the left

You’ll receive the quarterly Fabian Review and at least four reports or pamphlets each year sent to your door

Be a part of the debate at Fabian conferences and events and join one of our network of local Fabian societies

Join the Fabian Society
Fabian Society

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.